absentee ballot for overseas voter

House Races in which the 2008 Winner is Not Running

This is a list of House seats in which the 2008 winner is not going to be running in 2010. Some are open seats and some were filled by special elections. Open seats like these tend to be especially competitive unless the PVI (Charlie Cook's Partisan Voting Index) is very skewed one way or another, say D+10 or higher or R+10 or higher. All the district names are hyperlinked, either to a story about the race (if competitive) or a map of the district (if not). The colors represent the party that won in 2008.

Also check out the page discussing the Hot House races.

CD 2008 Winner Party PVI Open? Notes
CA-33 Diane Watson Dem D+35 Yes Could easily be reelected but at 76 she's had enough
FL-17 Kendrick Meek Dem D+34 Yes Running for Mel Martinez' open Senate seat
MI-13 Carolyn Kilpatrick Dem D+31 Yes Kilpatrick was defeated in the primary
CA-32 Hilda Solis Dem D+29 No Resigned to become Sec. of Labor
IL-05 Rahm Emanuel Dem D+19 No Resigned to become WH Chief of Staff
AL-07 Artur Davis Dem D+18 Yes Ran for governor
FL-19 Robert Wexler Dem D+15 No Joined a nonprofit organization in January 2010
RI-01 Patrick Kennedy Dem D+13 Yes Wants to do something else with his life
HI-01 Neil Abercrombie Dem D+11 Yes Running for governor
CA-10 Ellen Tauscher Dem D+11 No Appointed Undersecretary of State
DE-AL Mike Castle GOP D+7 Yes Running for the Senate
IL-10 Mark Kirk GOP D+6 Yes Running for Roland Burris' open Senate seat
MA-10 William Delahunt Dem D+5 Yes Forty years in Congress is enough
WI-07 David Obey Dem D+3 Yes No obvious reason
PA-07 Joe Sestak Dem D+3 Yes Running for senator
NH-02 Paul Hodes Dem D+0 Yes Running for Judd Gregg's open Senate seat
WA-03 Brian Baird Dem D+0 Yes Apparently just bored; he's young and popular
NY-23 John McHugh Dem R+1 No Appointed Secretary of the Army
PA-12 John Murtha Dem R+1 No Murtha died; there will be a special election this Spring
NY-20 Kirsten Gillibrand Dem R+2 No Appointed to Hillary Clinton's Senate seat
KS-03 Dennis Moore Dem R+3 Yes No apparent reason; he wasn't even a big target
MI-01 Bart Stupak Dem R+3 Yes Everyone beat on him during HCR
NY-29 Eric Massa Dem R+5 Yes Recurrence of his earlier cancer
FL-21 Lincoln Diaz-Balart GOP R+5 Yes No reason given
AR-02 Vic Snyder Dem R+5 Yes Polls looked bad and he has four young children
FL-25 Mario Diaz-Balart GOP R+5 Yes Running for his brother's open seat in FL-21
TN-08 John Tanner Dem R+6 Yes At 65, he's had enough of politics
MI-03 Vern Ehlers GOP R+6 Yes At 76 he didn't want to deal with a primary challenge
FL-12 Adam Putnam GOP R+6 Yes Running for Agriculture Commissioner
IN-08 Brad Ellsworth Dem R+8 Yes Running for Evan Bayh's open Senate seat
AR-01 Marion Berry Dem R+8 Yes Probably afraid he might lose
AZ-03 John Shadegg GOP R+9 Yes After 8 terms, he wants to move on
WV-01 Alan Mollohan Dem R+9 Yes Mollohan was defeated in the primary
CA-19 George Radanovich GOP R+9 Yes His wife has ovarian cancer
FL-05 Ginny Brown-Waite GOP R+9 Yes She has serious health problems
MI-02 Peter Hoekstra GOP R+9 Yes Ran for governor
SC-01 Henry Brown GOP R+10 Yes He's 74 and tired of being in the minority
LA-03 Charlie Melancon Dem R+12 Yes Running for the Senate against Vitter
AL-05 Parker Griffith GOP R+12 Yes Was defeated in the primary
TN-06 Bart Gordon Dem R+13 Yes At a young 60, he had decided he's had enough
OK-05 Mary Fallin GOP R+13 Yes Running for governor
TN-03 Zach Wamp GOP R+13 Yes Ran for governor
IN-03 Mark Souder GOP R+14 Yes He had an affair with a staffer
IN-04 Steve Buyer GOP R+14 Yes His wife has an incurable autoimmune disease
KS-04 Todd Tiahrt GOP R+14 Yes Running for Sam Brownback's open Senate seat
SC-04 Bob Inglis GOP R+12 Yes Inglis was defeated in the primary
GA-07 John Linder GOP R+16 Yes At 67 he may just have had enough
SC-03 Greshman Barrett GOP R+17 Yes Ran for governor
AR-03 John Boozman GOP R+16 Yes Running for the Senate
MO-07 Roy Blunt GOP R+17 Yes Running for the Kit Bond's open Senate seat
KS-01 Jerry Moran GOP R+23 Yes Running for Sam Brownback's open Senate seat
GA-09 Nathan Deal GOP R+28 Yes Running for governor

Back to the main page.